wait, hummus in pasta?!?!

So, my boyfriend has developed with weird obsession with hummus, especially the sabra kind you get at costco, so you can imagine his dismay on our last bulk food trip to find it had gone out of stock! Then, just yesterday we discovered that hummus had returned to costco, so of course he had to buy some, despite the fact that we are leaving next week for an outrageous 3 week trip and all our food will go bad! Now, since I really hate wasting food and there are only so many times I can eat hummus and pita chips, I decided I would see if I could use hummus in another way. After some searching online I discovered that some people have used hummus as a pasta sauce base, and figured I would give it a try!

Now, since I have a lifelong love affair with dairy products, I tend to make cream-based sauces, i.e. mustard-cream sauce, vodka sauce etc. However, I am aware of the fact that (a) not everyone considers cream to be a staple they should always have in your fridge and (b) cream may possibly not be the greatest thing in the world to consume in large quantities … maybe …

In any case, I decided I would try a healthier version of my blush sauce using hummus as the base and including Mediterranean flavors. The pasta tasted very good, but I have to say the hummus flavor was not super strong (that might be a good thing, not sure I want my pasta sauce to taste too much like hummus). Basically, it ended up being a healthier blush sauce with a hint of that hummus flavor. And, the whole meal took less than 20 minutes to make, which was crucial after a long day of research!

hummus pasta

Ingredients (serves 4)

1/2 large zucchini
1 medium yellow onion
1 small orange pepper
1 can diced tomatoes with juice
1 cup original hummus
1/2 pound linguini or other pasta
2 Tbs olive oil
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp garlic powder
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

– Boil water and cook linguine (or other desired pasta shape) according to package directions.

– While water is boiling, slice pepper and onion into long, thin strips. Slice zucchini into half rounds. Add olive oil and all vegetables to a large pan and cook over medium heat until veggies are just soft, but not mushy, about 5 minutes.

– Add hummus and diced tomatos in juice to sauté pan, stir to combine. Add garlic powder, oregano, salt and black pepper. Simmer for 10 minutes or until pasta is done.

– Drain pasta and add to sauté pan. Toss pasta to coat with sauce and serve, making sure to grab some veggies that probably fell to the bottom of the pan!

Leave a Reply

